How to Get Out of a ‘Funk’ or Just Plain Bad Mood

26 May

Last night it took me hours to fall asleep because I was feeling so blessed about my life that I could not shut my brain down! Yet this morning I woke up at my usual semi-early time and have been in a bad mood since. I had to keep asking myself “Why?” all day. Truly the change in me was huge in just a few hours, but that probably has a lot to do with it; I got very little sleep because I still woke up early. However I decided to turn my ‘funk’ into a game of sorts. I threw out my to do list and kept a running list of all the things that one can do to bring themselves out of a funk and back into the bright and optimistic people we are!


1. Laugh
Seriously! Who doesn’t feel better after a good laugh?! Go to Youtube and watch a few funny videos. Watch your favorite funny movie or show. Call up that friend or family member that never fails to make you bust a gut!

2. Dance! Break out all the cheesy 80’s or 90’s music you can find and dance like no one is watching! Endorphins baby! (Plus it can be a great workout! Kill two birds with one stone.)

3. Nature Studies have shown that getting outside can help us with so many different mental issues. ADD/ADHD patients benefit from spending daily time in nature, so do people with depression. Basically everyone can benefit from spending some time to stop and smell the roses…or grass. Bonus: If it’s sunny out you can get a healthy dose of Vitamin D which we all know can make us a little blue in the winter. Also being outside may mean exercise which equals more endorphins, aka the “feel good” hormones.

4. Workout I’ll admit sometimes the last thing I want to do when I’m in a bad mood is squats and lunges. But after I’m done I always feel at least a little better. Go for a run, do some yoga, or if you happen to be mad at someone or have a little frustration built up-kick boxing is probably the best way to blow off that steam and feel 100 times better quickly!

5. Read There is nothing like escaping into a new world for even just a few minutes.

6. Chocolate Okay so we all want to be healthy and in beach-body shape for summer, however chocolate has been proven to boost moods. Your best bet is to choose a very And take time to savor and ounce of good, quality dark chocolate that is 60% or higher, NOT a candy bar!

7. Meditate Nothing fancy here, seriously you don’t have to be a yogi studying in India to meditate, and it has huge benefits for the body and mind. Two of my favorite resources for meditating are Youtube (search ‘Paul Collier’ for some great relaxation music) or Itunes podcasts (my favorites are ‘My Thought Coach’ or ‘Meditation Station’-these are ready-made soundtracks, all you need is yourself, a quite place to sit and headphones if you feel the need!)

8. Bath or Shower I don’t know about you but I always feel better after a shower, and I usually get my best ideas in the shower so it’s a major Win-Win.

9. Slow down and savor the moment I am all too bad at this but it’s something I am trying to work on much more. 6 Steps to Living in the Moment

10. Music I have some songs that are just automatic pick me ups. Examples: I am so Blessed-Martina McBride, Worlds Greatest-R.Kelly, Unwritten-Natasha Bedingfield, We Live-Superchic[k], Where is the Love?-Black Eyed Peas, You are My Hope-Skillet…and many many more!

If all else fails, take a nap!

If you have any tips on how to get yourself out of a funk or any more songs or anything I may have missed, please leave them in the comments!

God Bless,
Miss Mikele!

One Response to “How to Get Out of a ‘Funk’ or Just Plain Bad Mood”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention How to Get Out of a ‘Funk’ or Just Plain Bad Mood « Miss Mikele -- Topsy.com - May 26, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Ash Lee, Ash Lee. Ash Lee said: Miss Mikele: How to Get out of a Funk or just plain bad mood! http://tinyurl.com/3xeyjq9 […]

Leave a Reply

